Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(a sino-foreign joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China)

(Stock Code: 00991)

## CLARIFICATION ANNOUNCEMENT IN RELATION TO POSTPONEMENT OF EGM AND CLASS MEETINGS

Reference is made to the announcement of Datang International Power Generation Co., Ltd. (the "Company") dated 6 January 2017 (the "Whitewash Supplemental Announcement") in respect of (i) the H-Share Subscription Amendment Agreement; (ii) the A-Share Subscription Supplemental Agreement; (iii) the postponement of the EGM and the Class Meetings; and (iv) the extension of closure of H-Share register of members of the Company.

Unless otherwise specified, terms undefined herein shall have the meanings ascribed to them in the Whitewash Announcement (as defined in the Whitewash Supplemental Announcement) or the Whitewash Supplemental Announcement.

Due to an inadvertent typographical error, under the section headed "Postponement of EGM and Class Meetings" in the Whitewash Supplemental Announcement, it was inadvertently stated that the EGM and the Class Meetings will be postponed to 9 February 2016 (Thursday). The Company would like to clarify that the EGM and the Class Meetings will be postponed to 9 February 2017 (Thursday).

Save as stated above, all other information in the English and Chinese versions of the Whitewash Supplemental Announcement remains unchanged.

By Order of the Board
Ying Xuejun
Company Secretary

Beijing, the PRC, 11 January 2017

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises: (a) two executive Directors, namely Wang Xin and Ying Xuejun; (b) eight non-executive Directors, namely Chen Jinhang, Liu Chuandong, Liang Yongpan, Zhu Shaowen, Cao Xin, Zhao Xianguo, Liu Haixia and Guan Tiangang (Mdm.); and (c) five independent non-executive Directors, namely Feng Genfu, Luo Zhongwei, Liu Huangsong, Jiang Fuxiu and Liu Jizhen.

The Directors jointly and severally accept full responsibility for the accuracy of the information contained in this announcement and confirm, having made all reasonable enquiries, that to the best of their knowledge, opinions expressed in this announcement have been arrived at after due and careful consideration and there are no other facts not contained in this announcement the omission of which would make any statements in this announcement misleading.