Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(a sino-foreign joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China)

(Stock Code: 00991)

DELAY IN DESPATCH OF CIRCULAR REGARDING THE CONTINUING CONNECTED TRANSACTIONS

Reference is hereby made to the announcement of Datang International Power Generation Co., Ltd. (the "Company") dated 28 December 2016 in relation to continuing connected transactions in respect of the Coal Purchase and Sale Framework Agreements and the Coal Transportation Framework Agreements (the "Announcement"). Unless otherwise specified in this announcement, capitalised terms used in this announcement shall have the same meanings as those defined in the Announcement.

As disclosed in the Announcement, a circular containing details of the Coal Purchase and Sale Framework Agreements and the Coal Transportation Framework Agreements, and letters from the independent financial adviser and independent board committee advising on the terms of the Coal Purchase and Sale Framework Agreements and the Coal Transportation Framework Agreements (the "Circular") is expected to be despatched to the shareholders by the Company on or before 19 January 2017.

As the Company requires additional time to finalise the information for inclusion in the Circular, the despatch date of the Circular is expected to be postponed to a date falling on or before 10 February 2017.

By Order of the Board
Ying Xuejun
Company Secretary

Beijing, the PRC, 19 January 2017

As at the date of this announcement, the Directors of the Company are:

Chen Jinhang, Liu Chuandong, Wang Xin, Liang Yongpan, Ying Xuejun, Zhu Shaowen, Cao Xin, Zhao Xianguo, Liu Haixia, Guan Tiangang, Feng Genfu*, Luo Zhongwei*, Liu Huangsong*, Jiang Fuxiu*, Liu Jizhen*

^{*} Independent non-executive Directors